The Woman in the Painting

A celebrated artist. A baker’s daughter. A love that will change everything.

1508. In Rome, artists are feted as gods, and women must know their place.

Margarita may be the modest daughter of a baker, but when she falls in love with painter Raphael she finds herself playing a dangerous game.

For Raphael is wanted for greater things than a humble marriage, and there are those who will do anything to keep him and Margarita apart – no matter the consequences…

Inspired by a heartbreaking true story, this stunning and evocative novel is perfect for fans of The Sapphire Widow, Beneath a Burning Sky and The Emerald Affair.

What readers are saying about The Woman in the Painting:

‘I was thoroughly and completely hooked… I felt myself being transported inside the book to Renaissance Italy… I truly loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 4 stars

‘It’s hard to describe how much I enjoyed thisWonderful detail and atmospherics.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Strong characters… Complex relationships… I absolutely loved this work!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

I absolutely loved it. It drew me in and I didn’t want to take a break.’ NetGalley reviewer, 4 stars

Compelling… Impeccably researched, the writer drew me into sixteenth-century Italy from the beginning. The writing style is delicious, a joy to read.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Beautifully written, it helps reveal the magic and wonder of the period.’ NetGalley reviewer, 4 stars