If you like this Christmas movie we recommend…

Here at HQ Stories, we are OBSESSED with Christmas movies and we also LOVE books (funnily enough). We couldn’t resist the opportunity to pair them together to create the ultimate festive reading guide.

Read on to find out what you should read next based on your favourite Christmas films!

Love Actually Christmas

Pug Actually Christmas

IF YOU’RE OBSSED WITH LOVE ACTUALLY YOU SHOULD READ…

PUG ACTUALLY by Matt Dunn

“If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that PUG ACTUALLY is all around”

Okay, Hugh Grant did not say that, and this book is technically not a christmas book, but if you love romances that will sweep you off your feet and have an obsession with adorable dogs, then we suggest you pick up Pug Actually.

Doug is worried that his owner, Julie, is going to end up alone so decides to set her up with his new vet Tom! The only problem? Julie and Tom can’t stand each other…Doug doesn’t quite understand the quirks and complexities of human relationships, but he won’t let that get in the way of his mission to bring Tom and Julie together. After all, being a ‘rescue’ works both ways…

Dash & Lily Christmas
Dash and Lily's book of dares Christmas

IF YOU LOVE DASH AND LILY, WHY NOT TRY…

Dash and Lilys Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohen

Last year we were all dreaming of a romantic night at the Strand bookstore in New York thanks to the Netflix tv series Dash & Lily, but have you read the book that the show is based on? If you’re looking for an adorable Christmas romance and adventure around New York then we recommend picking up this book IMMEDIATELY.

When Dash finds the red notebook filled with challenges Lily left in her favourite bookshop, he is curious. He is also not one to back down from a challenge. Cue drama, fun, and young love.

Hallmark movies Christmas
Flora's Travelling Christmas Shop

IF YOU’RE A FREQUENT HALLMARK MOVIE VIEWER YOU NEED TO READ…

Flora’s Travelling Book Shop by Rebecca Raisin

The recipe for a Hallmark Christmas film: a cheesy romance that will make you smile, hilarious moments that will knock your socks off, and chocker filled with Christmas moments. You can find all this, and more, in Flora’s Travelling Book Shop. Also, it features a book shop. WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT?

Flora is obsessed with Christmas, so is obviously devestated when she is let go from her job at Deck the Halls Christmas emporium, but this doesn’t stop her festive heart. She takes her campervan-book-shop to Lapland to sell books in the most Christmas town you can think of. However, when she meets the ultimate scrooge-christmas-hater Connor, her heart becomes aflutter. Can Flora convince Connor of the joys of Christmas – and will she find a festive romance along the way?

The Holiday Calendar Christmas
Confessions from the quilting circle

IF YOU LOVED WITH THE HOLIDAY CALENDAR YOU SHOULD TRY…

Confessions from the Quilting Circle by Maisey Yates

The Holiday Calendar follows Abby who inherits an antique advent calendar from her grandmother. The contents of which seem to predict the future. Slowly this advent calendar starts to heal her heart and lead her to love.

In Confessions from the Quilting Circle, the Ashwood sisters reunite after their grandmother passes away. In her cottage, the sisters find a quilt that their grandmother had started making, full of memories from their past. As they begin finishing it, secrets surface but the further along they get, the more they begin to heal, trust one another and open up their hearts to love.

The Holiday
The Christmas Wedding Guest

IF YOU ARE OBSESSED WITH THE HOLIDAY, YOU SHOULD READ…

The Christmas Wedding Guest by Susan Mallery.

The Holiday is a Christmas classic. We tune in each year to watch Jude Law open his heart and family to Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet and Jack Black heal their broken hearts and find true love.

The Christmas Wedding Guest by Susan Mallery also has a dual narrative and love story. The novel focuses on sisters Reggie and Dena who are in the fabulously festive town of Wishing Tree for their parents’ vow renewal. One finds an unlikely companion in a mystery rock star who is hiding out in the small town for the holidays. The other sister is surprised by the feelings that grow between her and her former high-school sweetheart – and his adorable young son!

Marry me at Christmas
Chasing Perfect

IF YOU LOVED MARRY ME AT CHRISTMAS, CHECK OUT…

Chasing Perfect by Susan Mallery

How do we know that you will love it? Because the film is based on Susan’s heartwarming Fool’s Gold series.

Chasing Perfect is book one and introduces the quirky town of Fool’s Gold and its inhabitants. The perfect job turns up in the small town of Fool’s Gold Charity is thrilled with the opportunity, and soon falls in love with all the town has to offer —everything except its most famous resident, former world-class cyclist Josh Golden. Except he’s more flawed than everyone else thinks he is. Soon they’re unable to stay away from each other and while neither of them is perfect, they may be perfect for each other…

Other Articles

Festive tips from your favourite authors!

This Christmas, we asked our brilliant authors to share their fantastic festive hints and tips for the holiday season! Including advice on creating your own Christmas gift tags, decorating your dinner table in secret, and even keeping your pets happy, this blog post is sure to come in handy when… Read More

Books that will… revitalise ⚡

Easy to wrap and always a joy to receive, we think books make the BEST Christmas presents. So if you’re looking for the perfect Christmas gift to fill that stocking, you can never go wrong with a brilliant book! And books are not just for Christmas… the round up of… Read More

Books that will… taste great 🍴

Easy to wrap and always a joy to receive, we think books make the BEST Christmas presents. So if you’re looking for the perfect Christmas gift to fill that stocking, you can never go wrong with a brilliant book! If you have friends and family who just LOVE being in… Read More